Shout to Me, Call Me Clean

Shout to Me, Call Me Clean

We’ve been out last night. For the most part of the day [080509], I didn’t have any classes to attend to but I didn’t want to go home 7 hours earlier than I usually would be found there. Not that I didn’t want to lounge around, it’s just that I’m not used to breaking routines. Also, the people at home would find it weird that I’d be sitting in my usual spot with the sun still up. That aside, yeah, we’ve been out last night.

For the lighter part of the day [the part of the day when the sun’s still shining], the day’s adventure started. I took a close friend to go book hunting in the other nearest mall from our university. That trip burned three hours of the day and left four whole hours of fun and games to enjoy. On the fourth hour, my best friend came and we burned off another hour eating and comic book hunting. After that, we headed back to the university to pick up my first friend and we went off to the mall again to go laptop hunting. We ended up eating California maki.

Go figure.

I didn’t end up barfing like I usually do after eating those things so we went to the arcades. At the shooting gallery, there was an 80-point difference between me and my best friend. Guess who won? Yeah, thank you for your applause. We wrapped up the mall day by four o’clock and headed back to the university to wait for our last companion.

We sat at the usual waiting spot in front of window 1. The two were getting giddy as a death omen walked past us [the death omen being a professor who failed a student]. Gradually, their giddiness rubbed off on me and I kept fingering my phone. I received a text which directed us to our next destination.

We met up with our last companion and after he finished eating, we went to our last destination for that day. The sun was going down when we got to the walled city. We spent the first half-hour hunting for the end of an epic line. The purpose? We had to get in line to go inside the church, why do we have to get inside the church? The remains of the ex-president of our country were laid there and it was the last night for public viewing before they buried her. By 7pm that night, the three of us had to give up. It was raining, there was flood, our homes were three hours away and we still had to answer to our parents when we got home. We left our last companion there on Victoria street. It weighed heavily on me personally but I know my limits when I reach them.

We got home at around 10pm. Our last companion got to see the ex-president at around 1am. The trip home was a blur to me as my head was already pounding in sync with the beating of my pulse. Even my grammar was lapsing along with my speech.

At the end of that day’s journey, two of us, the one who stayed and the one who went book hunting with me, said that that day deserved a hell of a blog post. I’m not one to go about posting happy stuff in here. It’s just not my thing. But really, that day deserved one heck of a post and that’s what I’m attempting to do now. The problem is…I was happy that day. Happy in a way that I haven’t been in a long while. So here I am, trying to be sober enough to write like the usual way I do things.

But I can’t sober up. I write emphatic posts. Sad ones. That won’t change now and that won’t change ever. So this is my one heck of a blog post. It’s a bland narration of one of the best adventures of my short life. So sue me.

To the ex-president under whose reign I was born in, goodbye. I didn’t know you well since I was only a baby when you ruled. When I got enough smarts to know you, I can only associate you with your actress daughter and the guy in the 500 peso bill. Now, I associate you with the letter L and the color yellow.

Right now, I can see your burial airing on TV. Your family’s grieving and so is the part of the population who endured to go to your march. Your crypt’s being sealed up as I type this. You must’ve been important so those people who’re weeping right now. I can’t relate to them since I don’t really feel sad when someone dies. I just feel…flat, like paper. Right now, I feel like that. They grieve for you and I can only feel like paper. Even so, goodbye.

I love the lilies in your tomb. It’s just now that I understood where lilies served their purpose best. I wonder if there’re lilies on the departed side. The stargazers are the flowers I liked best.

So maybe we’ll see just how much stargazing we’ll do until we get there.

2 responses to “Shout to Me, Call Me Clean”

  1. ngaun ko lang to nabasa. haha. and i love the sixth paragraph [kung macoconsider na paragraph ang isang sentence.] 😀

    1. wenx. omen of doom XD

Leave a comment