Elves in This Brazen Glen

There’s a face I always see and

It was a view I’d rather liked

To a certain extreme

That breathing can only begin

When I see it smiling

By my efforts,

My foolhardy antics;

It was less than a drug but it was

Addicting.

And this face has become

A part of the ordinary

But it was a view I’d rather liked

To a point where selfishly

I tried to hate its expressions

When they weren’t for me

Or when they weren’t from me;

It was less than a sedative

But it rendered me

Suspended.

There’s a face I no longer see

Except in dreams –

In the machinations of my mind –

And it was a view I’d rather liked

So, I reached out and touched it

But like reflections undisturbed in water,

My touch destroyed it.

Poetry Rally 31

About kyogakura
Bored 95% of the time.

12 Responses to Elves in This Brazen Glen

  1. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 31 (October 21-27) | Jingle

  2. Jingle says:

    things in life could be solid, could be your imagination..
    well capture of your subject.

  3. Jingle says:

    Thanks for sharing…

    have fun looking around.
    Happy Rally.

  4. Pingback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 31 | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  5. ahh the dangers of wanting something too bad

  6. lynnaima says:

    Nice 🙂 I enjoyed the flow, rally on!

  7. yuuki-chan says:

    Wanting something only to find that you can’t have it. SIGH. Powerful last line. 🙂

    Darkly:
    http://sugaryichigo.wordpress.com/2010/06/25/darkly/

  8. ripples destroying reflections.. like that our thoughts and desires are at times.. lovely last line! 🙂

    My Rally Post is here:
    http://leonnyes.wordpress.com/2010/10/21/nine-hundred/

  9. belladonna23 says:

    interesting…..hmm, wanting something we know we cannot have perhaps??

  10. It touched me deeply and your poem made me relate with the fragile of all things in life.. A hidden shade of what made the ‘strong’ beauty.. I am so glad that you are the 11th on my list.. I could connect with this deeply..

  11. Pingback: So Many New Poetry Flavors, Come To Try Them All | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  12. Jingle says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/thursday-poets-rally-week-32-november-4-10/

    how r u?
    Letting you know Poets Rally week 32 is on,
    Drop me your entry if you wish to be part of it.
    Thanks a lot,
    Happy November!
    xxx

Leave a Reply

